Top 50 older song discoveries of 2018 (#6-#10)

 

festive-50

 

 

6.)
Borrowed Tune by Neil Young (1975)
(This moving ballad is a personal favorite from 1975’s Tonight’s the Night. A darker album, Neil Young’s success collided with personal chaos and loss. There’s a pessimism that stemmed from the idealism of the 1960s not working out)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

7.)
Oh, Lonesome Me by Neil Young (1970)
(Only Love Can Break Your Heart is the most famous sad song on 1970’s After The Goldrush but the lesser known Oh, Lonesome Me (from Side 2) is impactful as well. About a character who can’t get over a break-up. A cover of a 1957 track by Don Gibson. Despite being covered many times, there’s an earnestness in the vocal delivery that you think Neil has written it and lived it. The opening lyric about staying home or going out is a recurring battle if you are an introvert)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

8.)
The Painter by Neil Young (2005)
(The album was recommended to me by Aphoristical because I said I was a fan of Young’s two Harvest albums from 1972 and 1992. The Painter is the most moving from 2005’s Prairie Wind, tapping into a very modern problem about multiple choice, with its thought provoking lyric “if you follow every dream, you might get lost”)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

9.)
Idiot Wind by Bob Dylan (1975)
(I love the first half of Blood on the Tracks. Idiot Wind is a remarkable new-to-me song with great lyrics. Dylan has stated that “Idiot Wind” is about the expression of willpower.”With strength of will you can do anything. With willpower you can determine your destiny.”
Dylan denied that this or any other song on Blood On The Tracks was about his divorce. However, one of Bob’s and Sara’s children, Jakob Dylan, described the music as “my parents talking”)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

10.)
Come into the Open by Penetration (1979)
(This post is a bit of a downer so will end with an upbeat late 70s punk rock/new wave tune I found. A mix of The Cranberries with The Clash is how I would describe the music. The message of Come into the Open is empowering and sort of an answer to the Neil Young lyric mentioned in #7. Then again, if you want a hit the town song you could stick to Neil Young and Come on Baby Let’s Go Downtown from Tonight’s the Night)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

What do you think? As always, comments are welcome

12 thoughts on “Top 50 older song discoveries of 2018 (#6-#10)

      1. Sometimes the slick, country arrangements don’t work for Blood on the Tracks IMO – good on Tangled up in Blue though. But I like the electric, aggressive Idiot Wind – it was the first one I heard, as my first Dylan album was a compilation named Masterpieces.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. @Aphoristical: I’ve not listened to the Masterpieces Dylan compilation but sounds like you remember it fondly! I’m more familiar with his Biograph compilation from the mid 1980s (which doesn’t include any versions of Idiot Wind)

        Like

  1. I’ll never forget hearing Idiot Wind for the first time – when he sings, ‘she inherited a million bucks & when she died, it came to me’ I couldn’t believe my ears, as Hootie & The Blowfish eventually borrowed that line in their tune ‘only wanna be with you’ !

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love thIs selection. Have you seen the HEART OF GOLD Neil Young concert film that Jonathan Demme directed? It includes all the PRAIRIE WIND material in the first half. I rewatched it recently, and it’s excellent.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment