Top 50 songs of 2017 countdown (#20-#16)

 

Ballad of the Dying Man by Father John Misty

 

 

 

16.) All I Got is You by Deep Purple
(My favorite of the singles released for the Infinite album. Not as great as their peak 70s stuff but this new track rocks)

 

 

 

17.) We Got The Power (feat. Jehnny Beth, Noel Gallagher, & D.R.A.M.) by Gorillaz
(While the album is uneven, the best track is an empowering, catchy pop anthem. Anyone could relate to the lyrics)

 

 

 

 

18.) Some Kind of Love by The Killers
(The album Wonderful Wonderful mostly left me cold. This retro 80s slow ballad was a pleasant surprise and made me feel something emotionally.
Almost decided to go with the cocky, tongue-in-cheek single The Man, which is one of the catchiest pop songs of 2017)

 

 

 

19.) Ballad of the Dying Man by Father John Misty
(A hint of the 70s in the beautiful melody, and an amusing yet telling commentary on the absurd self-importance of man in the internet age when everyone has an opinion. You could say singer-songwriter Josh Tillman is preachy about the many failings of humanity, but his sense of proportion stood out for me on the album, how we are minor in the grand scheme of things. He has a point that contemporary news is becoming like entertainment with the likes of The Daily Show etc, and I think he’s right to question that)

 

 

 

20.)  Don’t Delete the Kisses by Wolf Alice 
(Cocteau Twins for the 21st century, I like listening to the track on a low volume. Perhaps Wolf Alice are destined to be a band who release impressive songs (Silk was the stand out on their debut), but hit-and-miss albums. I love the poetic title Don’t Delete the Kisses, words that would mean something different to each listener)

 

 

 

 


What do you think? As always, comments are welcome

8 thoughts on “Top 50 songs of 2017 countdown (#20-#16)

      1. Well, ever since Steve Morse joined the band in the early 90s. The band was able to enjoy themselves and once Jon Lord passed the role of keyboardist to Don Airey. Things have been consistent. It was very difficult with Ritchie Blackmore who made everyone miserable when the classic Mach II line-up reunited. It’s just that the band is enjoying themselves despite Lord’s passing some years ago.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. All I Got Is You is a highlight from Infinite. I really like that one a lot… can’t say I’m familiar with the others, but I’m liking Father John Misty’s track (I haven’t checked out his latest album at all).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. @J: Nice we agree on a couple of these To me, the 2017 Father John Misty album is great for the writing, I wasn’t totally into it as music(except a few of the tracks)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I think that’s why I never really got to his latest album… I felt that the first two were interesting and, as you say, the writing is pretty great, but I didn’t really dig them fully musically. I’ll get to it, but I just found other stuff got in the way.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment